Estimated Reading Time: 3 minutes

In order to be able to make a proper kabbalistic meditation we need to have the concepts loud and clear. Many of this concepts can be found on the E-book: Kabbalah and Jewish Meditation from scratch. In here you will find many basic concepts that will make you come closer to Hashem. 

One of the students asked the Rabbi that even after reading the e-book the concept of Partzufim was not really clear for him, so the Rabbi decided to make the article about this concept. 

The basic explanation is that the partzuf is the structure of few sefirot together; to better understand it, think of a molecule. The sefirot act as the atoms that come together to form a new structure aka a new molecule. The basic structure of partzuf are the Ten Sefirot where we have the upper Partzufim and the lower Partzufim, in the latest is where our work (tikkunim) needs to be done. The lower Partzufim are called Zeir Anpin, which is the masculine aspect, and Nukva, which is the feminine aspect. To bring them to Unity is the main tikun done in many of the meditations; this is the reason why we say “L’shem yichud Kudusha Berich-Hu”.

We are bringing together Zeir Anpin and Nukva through our meditation, Zeir Anpin is also called Kudsha Berich-Hu. How can this be? To call Kudsha Berich-Hu the Zeir Anpin? Rabbi Shepherd explains that in Kabbalah there is a concept called “B-Arachin” which means that when we compare one thing to another we call one in relation to the other. For us the spiritual structures(sefirot, partzufim, etc.) are part of the existence of Hashem and that is why we call Zeir Anpin Kudsha Berich-Hu. This doesn’t mean that it is the highest level, we can actually reach higher levels and when achieved we wouldn’t call Zeir Anpin Kudsha Berich-Hu but another structure. 

The Zeir Anpin and Nukva are the 7 lower sefirot of the world of Atzilut, so we see that they are missing the upper sefirot: Chochma, Binah and Daat (sometimes we do not count Daat but Keter instead). The goal of the kavanot in the Tefila is to bring abundance to Zeir Anpin and Nukva so that they can complete their unity. It is similar to when you have a new couple that you give them everything that they need to get married also here, the spiritual “couple” Zeir Anpin and Nukva are waiting for us to give them what they need to get married. 

Now, the higher partzufim are actually the source of the abundance needed by the lower partzufim. The first partzuf is called “Ima” and sometimes called “Yasdut” (Yisrael-Saba-Tebuna). Ima is the source of the level of the mochin of Binah for Zeir Anpin and Nukva. Within the growth of man there is a level of understanding one thing from another (mevin davar mitoch davar), to see a thing happening and to understand what is the reason for it to happen. 

The next step is to achieve the level of Chochma which is coming from a higher source called “Aba” that is above Ima; even above Aba there is the level of Keter that it’s spirituality is coming from the partzuf Arich Anpin. There is another partzuf called Atik Yomin which is the soul of the Arich Anpin. 

All of these concepts can be a subject of meditation, if you want to know the techniques of how to apply them please visit our youtube channel: or download the e-book for free

Blessings from the King David’s Tomb in Mount Zion. 
All of these concepts can be a subject of a meditation, if y

Leave a Reply

Shopping cart


No products in the cart.

Continue Shopping